Rick Drew Things

Thanksgiving Throwback

Posted in Uncategorized by Rick Martin on 11/26/2009

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

Recently, my dad found this Thanksgiving card I made for my grandparents over at their house. I’m guessing that this is from either second or third grade. I love looking at my old drawings, not only does it give me motivation to keep improving, but a lot of them are simply funny.

There are a number of things I find humorous about these drawings, which is why I wanted to share them…

1. Looney Tunes’ influence is already evident in my drawings at this age. (Hence the turkey’s expression)

2. The cleaver the turkey is scared of is a little intense for a kid’s imagination. (Not only is the blade dripping blood, but the tree stump is blood-stained as well.)

3. I clearly wasn’t in the mood to color the sky very thoroughly.

4. The second drawing sums up the “Story-book” idea they try to teach kids, totally sheltering them from the truth about Native Americans. But when you’re a kid, you believe what adults tell you, especially when they are teachers.

5. I obviously only knew how to draw t-shirts. Seeing as though both the pilgrim and the Indian are wearing them.

6. Crayola Magic Markers 8-packs don’t exactly give you skin-tones.

7. Apparently Indians greeted one another in English.

8. The Indian’s hairstyle is an exact replica of the character Bebop’s hair from Ninja Turtles (mohawk/pony-tail combo)

9. I’ve got to give myself credit for drawing a pretty damn good rifle.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JaredYoutzy said, on 11/29/2009 at 10:53 pm

    Rick, This was an awesome analysis. I just sat here with my girlfriend and laughed at your “top ten”. Keep up the good work buddy, you’ve inspired me to pursue my talents in graphic art!

    • Rick Martin said, on 12/03/2009 at 3:57 am

      Thanks for the support my man!


Leave a comment